Fourmilwater Hurling Club


Four-mile-water GAA Club, founded in 1926, is a sister club of the Nire Football club and is located in Ballymacarbry, a rural based community in County Waterford. It is situated between the Comeragh and Knockmealdown mountain ranges, along the banks of the river Nire and accessible via the R671.

Our GAA grounds, The Mill Field is located in the centre of Ballymacarbry, which is the central point to the community. Our club catchment area starts at Kilmacomma right out to Tourneena, taking in Russelstown, Kilmanahan, The Mountain Road, The Nire Valley, Ballymacabry, Four-mile-Water ( Bordering with Newcastle) to name but a few of the town-lands in the immediate vicinity of Dungarvan and Clonmel. 

Fourmilewater caters for over 60 playing adults (over the age of 18) and 105 children (Under 16) each year plus another  60 involved in various committee’s and coaching. 

The club currently holds senior status, reaching the County Senior Hurling semi final in 2015 for the second time in its history; The club also fields at junior level and at every juvenile grade.

The club recently developed it club facilities in 2016 with the construction of a third dressing room and the refurbishment of its existing two dressing rooms together with a refs room, wheelchair accessible toilets and a meeting room. The works were completed just in time for the holding of a number of games in this year's Feile na nGael, with the club hosting the Birr U14 Hurling team from Offaly, and competed in Division 2.


Over the years, the club has achieved significant success for a small rural based club, namely:

3 Co. Intermediate Hurling titles in 1970, 1989 and 2001;

Conor Gleeson, the 1st Club Player to play on winning team of U-14 Tony Forristal Hurling Tournament in 2010 and went on to win an All Ireland Minor Hurling medal in 2012.

Conor and Jamie Barron are currently part of the Waterford Senior Hurling squad. Dermot Ryan was also a member of that historic All Ireland minor winning squad. 

Former club players to play Senior Hurling with Waterford include Mick Connolly, Shane Walsh, Liam Lawlor, Brian Wall, Pat (small) Walsh.


Willie Ryan was goalkeeper on the first Waterford U-21 Hurling team to win a Munster title back in 1974.

Shane's nephew, Oisin Walsh will represent the club in the Primary School's game at half time today;

Former player and current coach with the club senior team is Michael Ryan, of Waterford Ladies Football fame, who is also the current manager with the Westmeath Senior Hurling Team

Current Waterford County Board GAA Chairman Paddy Joe Ryan is a past player, Chairman and current member of our committee. 

This not the end of the Four-Mile-Water Story. To quote from Michael Ryan’s history of the club” It goes on adding new chapters, reaching new heights, conquering new goals. Long may it continue to do so.



The Recently developed new Dressingrooms in The MillfieldBallymacarbry 




The Four-Mile-Water U-14 team who competed in the recent U-14 Feile Na Gael



Club Lotto